The Baltic countries do not always allow citizens of Ukraine to leave the occupied territories without proper documents

February 3, 2023

On Friday, February 3, a regular meeting of the Coordinating Headquarters for the return of citizens from the temporarily occupied territories of Crimea to Ukraine was held.

The meeting was chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Vereshchuk, and representatives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Justice, the head of the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people Chubarov and lawyer of the Crimean Tatar Resource Center Volodymyr Liashenko took part in its work. At this meeting, concrete steps were discussed to change the current legislation of Ukraine, which will facilitate the return to Ukraine of citizens who left the temporarily occupied territories through third countries.

The participants of the meeting of the Coordinating Headquarters, in particular, the lawyer of the CTRC Volodymyr Liashenko, noted that, unfortunately, cases have become more frequent when the Baltic countries, for reasons of their own national security, do not allow Ukrainian citizens to enter their territory without the relevant Ukrainian documents, in particular passports for traveling abroad.

As a result of the meeting, instructions were given for additional thorough study of certain problematic issues, in particular, those related to the passage of Ukrainian citizens from the territory of Russia to the Baltic countries.

At the same time, the CTRC asks citizens of Ukraine living in the temporarily occupied territory of Crimea and planning to leave it through the territory of Russia to Estonia or Latvia, to take into account that for the entire civilized world community Crimea is the territory of Ukraine and during interviews with border guards of these countries you need to understand it clearly!