Every Crimean Tatar in the occupied Crimea can be designated as a terrorist

March 13, 2023

In the occupied Crimea, Russian security forces are increasingly conducting searches in the homes of Crimean Tatars. The so-called reason for this is the explosion of the railway, which occurred near Bakhchysarai on February 23, 2023.

Over the past 2 weeks, the occupiers have conducted 7 searches related to this case:

February 28 – in the house of Soin Dzhelilov in the Simferopol region;

March 6 – in the house of Edem Murtazaiev in Sudak;

March 9 – in the house of Memet Ashurov in the Krasnohvardiiske district and with Asan Abduramanov in Bakhchysarai;

March 11 – in the house of Akhtem Ismailov in the Simferopol region;

March 11 – in the house of Lenur Urkumet in Dzhankoi;

March 12 – in the house of a member of the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people Lemmar Yunusov.

After the searches, Edem Murtazaev, Akhtem Ismailov, Memet Ashurov and Lenur Urkumet were detained. They were all taken for interrogation to the Russian FSB Directorate for Crimea. They were subjected to psychological pressure, and some were even forced to pass a detector. Subsequently, after many hours of interrogation, all the Crimean Tatars were released.

So, we emphasize that a new trend has appeared in the occupied Crimea. Unfortunately, every Crimean Tatar on the peninsula can be designated as a terrorist, because we see that the Russian security forces come with searches to the houses of representatives of the indigenous people of Ukraine.

Recall that in 2021 there was a similar situation when Nariman Dzhelyalov and cousins Aziz and Asan Akhtemov were detained, who were accused of assisting sabotage. The occupants claim that they are involved in the damage to the gas pipeline in the village of Perevalne, Simferopol region of Crimea. And on September 21, 2022, the Southern District Military Court in Rostov-on-Don has already announced the sentences for political prisoners Nariman Dzhelyalov, Asan and Aziz Akhtemov. They were sentenced from 13 to 18 years in prison.