Crimean Tatar Resource Center


#LIBERATECRIMEA: Putin's Criminal Decree: Consequences for the Indigenous Peoples of Crimea and Ukrainian Citizens (35th release)

1 April 2020

While everyone is concerned about the coronavirus pandemic, Russian President Vladimir Putin, by his Decree of March 20, 2020, expanded the list of border territories that cannot be owned by “foreigners”, “stateless individuals” and “foreign legal entities”, adding territories of the occupied Crimea.

The list includes 19 coastal regions of the occupied Crimea, including the cities of Sevastopol, Kerch, Feodosia, Sudak, Alushta, Yalta, Saki and Yevpatoria.

Why is the Decree of the President of Russia criminal?

What consequences can be expected for the Crimean Tatar people and pro-Ukrainian citizens?

We’ll talk about this in the 35th release  of the  #LIBERATECRIMEA blog.